Introducing Reviews API v3: Collect Customer Feedback Across Google SERPs

Introducing Reviews API v3: Collect Customer Feedback Across Google SERPs

Introducing Reviews API: Collect Customer Feedback Across Google SERPs

Intro
Google is not only the largest search directory but also the world’s biggest repository of customer opinion. The platform keeps growing every day, along with the amount of customer feedback data in it. According to the study by BrightLocal, the search engine is acquiring reviews at an incredible rate – in 2016 alone the number of reviews at Google has jumped by 278%, becoming not only the biggest but also the fastest-growing review platform on the web.

This opens incredible opportunities for software vendors that work in such fields as sentiment analysis, local SEO and reputation management.

We have recently rolled out the third version of Reviews API. As the name suggests, it can help you collect customer feedback at Google.

However, you may be wondering what are the most effective ways to use it, or if it’s any different from other widely available solutions. In this blog post, we will provide answers to these and other questions, while also walking you through all the opportunities Reviews API can create for your business.

Note: Google has temporarily disabled the possibility to leave new reviews and new review replies due to COVID-19. This temporary limitation gives you additional time for testing and configuring your customer feedback management solution. In this way, when the circumstances are back to normal, you will be ready for managing larger volumes of new Google reviews data.

Reviews on Google: What you need to know about them

cern-knowledge-centerGoogle Reviews are customer testimonials that appear at your Google My Business profile. Thus, you have to claim and verify your Google My Business profile in order to receive them.

When users search for a local establishment that has a verified Google My Business profile, they are often shown a Knowledge Graph feature on the right side of the search results page. Apart from the local establishment’s name, Knowledge Graphs can also provide pictures, work hours, phone numbers, a map, directions, reviews, and so on.

While all the information included in the Knowledge Graph is equally important to customers (and, therefore, for businesses too), reviews are particularly crucial. With 85% of people trusting online reviews as much as personal recommendations, it’s hard to overestimate their value.

So, like it or not, getting positive reviews is a cornerstone of any local business. Now, it’s essential that you start automating the process of collecting and analyzing customer feedback across Google, which is exactly what DataForSEO Reviews API is designed to help you with.

Google Reviews API v3: key points‌

Google Reviews API is a stand-alone solution for gathering customer feedback data. It is the updated version of the Google Reviews SERP API v2 endpoint and their operation remained similar, however, there are several notable changes introduced in v3.

1 First of all, we have changed the structure of the URL requests. You can learn more about it from this blog post. For the Reviews API in particular, the v2 URL looked as follows:

https HTTPS protocol
api.dataforseo.com Hostname
v2 API version
srp_google_reviews_tasks_post
srp_google_reviews_tasks_get
The endpoint, to which the request is made
srp_google_reviews_tasks_get
/$task_id
The endpoint, to which the request is made and task id variable

 
Version three of Reviews API has the following URL structure:

https HTTPS protocol
api.dataforseo.com Hostname
v3 API version
reviews The name of the API to which the request is made
reviews The name of the API to which the request is made
google Search engine
task_post
tasks_ready
Type of the task that you set
task_get/$id Type of the task that you set and the id variable

 
Setting Standard task:
POST https://api.dataforseo.com/v3/reviews/google/task_post
Getting completed tasks:
GET https://api.dataforseo.com/v3/reviews/google/tasks_ready
Retrieving the results by id:
GET https://api.dataforseo.com/v3/reviews/google/task_get/$id

2 Also, we have introduced separate endpoints for obtaining the locations and languages that you can use with Reviews API:

List of Locations for Google Reviews

GET https://api.dataforseo.com/v3/reviews/google/locations
GET https://api.dataforseo.com/v3/reviews/google/locations/$country

List of Languages for Google Reviews

GET https://api.dataforseo.com/v3/reviews/google/languages

3 Another important change that came with the third version is a new pricing model. It is generally explained here. Simply put, all the prices are now stated in US dollars, as we have discarded the credit notion.

This change allowed us to simplify the pricing and decrease the Reviews API cost by 25%.

Check new pricing >>

Using Reviews API v3 you will now be billed per every 10 reviews in the items array only. Meaning, we no longer charge your account separately for setting a task and then for every 10 reviews in the results.

Same as in version two, Reviews API v3 has two priorities that define the relative speed of task execution. Let’s compare the v2 and v3 cost of 10,000 requests with 1000 reviews in each.

API version Standard High
v2 $1010 $2020
v3 $750 $1500

 

Example

To better understand the logic behind the Reviews API v3 pricing, let’s take the example of the “Hedonism Wines” query.

hedonism_winesWhen you click “View all Google reviews” on the knowledge graph displayed for the establishment, you will get to a similar window.

All feedback in that dialogue comes in blocks of ten, meaning that after each ten reviews Google loads another ten and so on – until all reviews are displayed.

Since Google provides ten reviews in each scrolling load element of the reviews window, the cost of Reviews API v3 is calculated per every ten reviews you get in the “items” array. For example, Hedonism Vines returns 693 reviews in total.

If you want to receive all of them and have specified this value in the “depth” field, the billing amount will be calculated as follows:

693 reviews equal to 70 scrolling load elements (e.g. 11 reviews are 2 scrolling load elements). So, in total, you will pay 70 x $0.00075 = $0.0525 if you go with the Standard priority, or 70 x $0.0015 = $0.105 with the High priority.

Note: if the value you specify in the “depth” field doesn’t reflect the actual number of reviews (e.g., you indicated the “depth” as 100, but there are in fact only 30 reviews for your query on Google), all extra money charged at the time of task setting will be refunded to you immediately.

How to use Reviews API to scrape reviews from Google

In the following paragraphs, we will dive into the process of extracting customer feedback from Google SERPs with our Reviews API.

1Making an API request

First things first, you’ll need to configure the request to Reviews API. You can use the following URL to do that:

POST https://api.dataforseo.com/v3/reviews/google/task_post

Just like any other DataForSEO API, Reviews API allows getting data for any location and language. However, for now, the applicable search engines are limited to Google only. You’ll have to use a brand name of an establishment you want to extract the reviews for as an input for the “keyword” field.

We recommend checking our extensive documentation beforehand.

Request Sample
[
    {
        "location_code": 1006886,
        "language_name": "English",
        "keyword": "hedonism wines",
        "sort_by": "lowest_rating",
        "priority": 2,
        "depth": 20
    }
]

Response Sample

{
    "version": "0.1.20200325",
    "status_code": 20000,
    "status_message": "Ok.",
    "time": "0.0886 sec.",
    "cost": 0.003,
    "tasks_count": 1,
    "tasks_error": 0,
    "tasks": [
        {
            "id": "03311530-1535-0199-0000-ce24ad1f5d4b",
            "status_code": 20100,
            "status_message": "Task Created.",
            "time": "0.0050 sec.",
            "cost": 0.003,
            "result_count": 0,
            "path": [
                "v3",
                "reviews",
                "google",
                "task_post"
            ],
            "data": {
                "api": "reviews",
                "function": "task_post",
                "se": "google",
                "location_code": 1006886,
                "language_name": "English",
                "keyword": "hedonism wines",
                "priority": 2,
                "depth": 20,
                "device": "desktop",
                "os": "windows"
            },
            "result": null
        }
    ]
}

2Getting API results

The API response provides the list of reviews structured in JSON for the specified search depth. In our case, there are 693 reviews. You can also set a pingback URL to obtain a list of completed GET requests, or a postback URL to get the results sent to your server.

Use the following URL to obtain Reviews API results:

GET: https://api.dataforseo.com/v3/reviews/google/task_get/$id

Response Sample

{
    "version": "0.1.20200325",
    "status_code": 20000,
    "status_message": "Ok.",
    "time": "0.1159 sec.",
    "cost": 0,
    "tasks_count": 1,
    "tasks_error": 0,
    "tasks": [
        {
            "id": "03311530-1535-0199-0000-ce24ad1f5d4b",
            "status_code": 20000,
            "status_message": "Ok.",
            "time": "0.0344 sec.",
            "cost": 0,
            "result_count": 1,
            "path": [
                "v3",
                "reviews",
                "google",
                "task_get",
                "03311530-1535-0199-0000-ce24ad1f5d4b"
            ],
            "data": {
                "api": "reviews",
                "function": "task_get",
                "se": "google",
                "location_code": 1006886,
                "language_name": "English",
                "keyword": "hedonism wines",
                "priority": 2,
                "depth": 20,
                "device": "desktop",
                "os": "windows"
            },
            "result": [
                {
                    "keyword": "hedonism wines",
                    "type": "reviews",
                    "se_domain": "google.co.uk",
                    "location_code": 1006886,
                    "language_code": "en",
                    "check_url": "https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=hedonism%20wines&num=20&sort=ratingLow&hl=en&gl=GB&gws_rd=cr&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&uule=w+CAIQIFISCXXeIa8LoNhHEZkq1d1aOpZS",
                    "datetime": "2020-03-31 12:31:16 +00:00",
                    "title": "Hedonism Wines",
                    "sub_title": "3-7 Davies St, London",
                    "rating": {
                        "rating_type": "Max5",
                        "value": 4.8,
                        "votes_count": null,
                        "rating_max": 5
                    },
                    "feature_id": "0x4876052ce9c2190f:0x4e1505095325804d",
                    "place_id": "ChIJDxnC6SwFdkgRTYAlUwkFFU4",
                    "reviews_count": 693,
                    "items_count": 20,
                    "items": [
                        {
                            "type": "google_reviews_search",
                            "rank_group": 1,
                            "rank_absolute": 1,
                            "position": "right",
                            "xpath": "/div[1]/div[1]/div[2]/div[1]/div[1]/div[2]/div[1]",
                            "review_text": "Ordered 12 bottles of champagne on Friday and requested for them to be delivered by 6pm (delivery charge of £20) I also requested that 2 of the bottles be chilled as I was going to be entertaining at 7pm. My final request was that the driver deliver my order to my apartment and not the concierge of my building (I gave my phone number so that the delivery man could call me when he arrived). The sales assistant agreed to all of my requests and said that it wouldn't be a problem at all. By 6.10pm our champagne hadn't been delivered. When I called I was told that the driver turned up late at the shop and that my delivery would be late. The sales assistant also said that he hadn't chilled 2 of my 12 bottles! By 6.30pm I still hadn't received my order so called the shop to cancel it. At 6.40 I got a phone call back from the shop saying that the delivery man had delivered the 12 bottles to the concierge... boom... a fail on all 3 requests!! The delivery man went back the following day to collect the unwanted delivery! Shocking shocking shocking customer service... think twice before ordering a delivery from Hedonism! ",
                            "time_ago": "2 years ago",
                            "rating": {
                                "rating_type": "Max5",
                                "value": 1,
                                "votes_count": null,
                                "rating_max": 5
                            },
                            "reviews_count": 4,
                            "photos_count": null,
                            "local_guide": false,
                            "profile_name": "Cerys Hopkirk",
                            "profile_url": "https://www.google.com/maps/contrib/112455509737387948424?hl=en-ID&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjxuazz28ToAhVDKewKHc6LDXYQvvQBegQIARAe",
                            "profile_image_url": "https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-GmKyhvsXT_A/AAAAAAAAAAI/AAAAAAAAAAA/fYX772pETRU/s40-c-rp-mo-br100/photo.jpg",
                            "owner_answer": "Dear Mrs Hopkirk, We would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are absolutely mortified to hear about your experience as we have very high standards of customer service and monitor this aspect very closely.The sales person who dealt with your order has not followed our company procedures and will be taken through a disciplinary process.We are incredibly sorry that you had such poor experience with Hedonism Wines and would like to rectify the impression made.If you wish to discuss it further, please kindly email drink@hedonism.co.ukThank you for bringing these issues to our attention, we will do our best to prevent these from reoccuring.Kind regards,Hedonism Wine Management team",
                            "owner_time_ago": "2 years ago"
                        },
                        {
                            "type": "google_reviews_search",
                            "rank_group": 2,
                            "rank_absolute": 2,
                            "position": "right",
                            "xpath": "/div[1]/div[1]/div[2]/div[1]/div[1]/div[2]/div[2]",
                            "review_text": "(Translated by Google) My husband was very enthusiastic about preparing for a trip to London, and especially for going to Chichvarkin’s store. Arriving at the store, we immediately turned to a consultant in a green apron for help. The guy talked to us rudely, sore in answers to the question regarding the choice of alcohol. I had a desire to make a remark to him, but abstained. Having bought alcohol, we just left.It’s all right for me, but it’s a shame for my spouse. He was disappointed and upset. Instead of a famous wine boutique, we visited a simple alcoholic shop.(Original)Мой супруг с большим энтузиазмом готовился к поездке в Лондон, а особенно к походу в магазин  Чичваркина. Прибыв в магазин мы сразу же обратились за помощью к консультанту в зеленом фартучке. Парень разговаривал с нами грубо, язвил в ответах на вопрос относительно выбора алкоголя. У меня возникло желание сделать ему замечание, но воздержалась. Купив алкоголь мы просто ушли. Мне то все ровно, а вот за супруга обидно. Он был разочарован и расстроен. Вместо именитого винного бутика мы побывали в простом алко-магазине.",
                            "time_ago": "5 months ago",
                            "rating": {
                                "rating_type": "Max5",
                                "value": 1,
                                "votes_count": null,
                                "rating_max": 5
                            },
                            "reviews_count": 13,
                            "photos_count": 1,
                            "local_guide": true,
                            "profile_name": "Live Justice",
                            "profile_url": "https://www.google.com/maps/contrib/107485108290411577455?hl=en-ID&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjxuazz28ToAhVDKewKHc6LDXYQvvQBegQIARAm",
                            "profile_image_url": "https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-gMkTYX9DT2o/AAAAAAAAAAI/AAAAAAAAAAA/RTK4Ih1XGa8/s40-c-rp-mo-ba2-br100/photo.jpg",
                            "owner_answer": "(Translated by Google) Good afternoon, we are very sorry that you had the impression. It is very not typical for our sellers to behave this way. Could you please describe the employee who served you? Did he speak Russian?(Original)Добрый день, нам очень жаль, что у вас сложилось такое впечатление. Это очень не характерно для наших продавцов так себя вести. Вы могли бы, пожалуйста, описать сотрудника, который вас обслуживал?он говорил по-русски?",
                            "owner_time_ago": "5 months ago"
                        },
                        {
                            "type": "google_reviews_search",
                            "rank_group": 3,
                            "rank_absolute": 3,
                            "position": "right",
                            "xpath": "/div[1]/div[1]/div[2]/div[1]/div[1]/div[2]/div[3]",
                            "review_text": "(Translated by Google) yearning\n(Original)\nтоска",
                            "time_ago": "2 months ago",
                            "rating": {
                                "rating_type": "Max5",
                                "value": 1,
                                "votes_count": null,
                                "rating_max": 5
                            },
                            "reviews_count": 31,
                            "photos_count": 1,
                            "local_guide": true,
                            "profile_name": "Grigory Aksenov",
                            "profile_url": "https://www.google.com/maps/contrib/104847233156209582780?hl=en-ID&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjxuazz28ToAhVDKewKHc6LDXYQvvQBegQIARAu",
                            "profile_image_url": "https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-sG4PWoGALIg/AAAAAAAAAAI/AAAAAAAAAAA/yxx8-uGzdnw/s40-c-rp-mo-ba3-br100/photo.jpg",
                            "owner_answer": null,
                            "owner_time_ago": null
                        },

Reviews API: Use Cases

From conducting thought-out sentiment analysis to building a Local SEO tool – Reviews API can be utilized for a variety of different purposes. In this part, we’ll take a look at some of the most common use cases, while also providing you with a few useful resources.

Sentiment Analysis

When it comes to customer feedback, having a set of reviews extracted from Google isn’t enough – you also need to understand what is being talked positively and negatively. At the same time, analyzing hundreds and thousands of customer reviews manually would be incredibly time-consuming. This is the reason why many organizations turn to sentiment automation (sometimes also called opinion mining). With our Reviews API, an appropriate natural language processing engine, and a bit of coding you can build your own tool for customer feedback analysis.

Helpful Resources:

Local SEO

Customer reviews have always been a cornerstone of local search engine optimization. The study by Moz reveals that review signals make 15.44% as ranking factors for the Local Pack feature, and 6.47% as localized organic ranking factors. What’s more, reviews are often cited as a “link alternative” for local establishments.

Given the significant importance of reviews, it’s not surprising that plenty of SEO software solutions have already incorporated features that are necessary for displaying and analyzing customer feedback.

On the other hand, though, getting Google reviews in large volumes creates particular challenges. First of all, although Google allows collecting customer feedback through its Google My Business API, it requires connecting the GMB (Google My Business) profile, so there’s no way you can use it for competitor analysis. Alternatively, it’s possible to get reviews through the Google Places API, but it gives a maximum of five reviews only. You can also try scraping and parsing Google SERPs on your own capacities, but this task can turn out to be pretty challenging and time-consuming.

So, if you want to collect Google Reviews for any business the optimal solution would be turning to the Reviews API from DataForSEO – it has everything you’ll need to incorporate the reviews monitoring feature into your local SEO software.

Helpful Resources:

Reputation Management

Reputation Management refers to the process of building a positive image of the brand online. This often requires collecting and analyzing vast amounts of customer feedback. While it is possible to do so manually, diving into search results, social media posts and forums, automation of the process can save you a lot of time and money.

With Reviews API, reputation management agencies can build custom in-house solutions for collecting and analyzing Google reviews, which, in turn, can help to optimize their budgets.

Helpful Resources:

Summary

When it comes to collecting customer reviews, it’s essential to automate the process. DataForSEO Reviews API will empower your business with accurate and up-to-date customer feedback data collected from Google – the world’s most extensive and rapidly-growing review platform.

Moreover, with the simplified pricing where you will pay only for the number of reviews in the results, Reviews API v3 will cost you 25% less than Google Reviews SERP API v2 endpoint.

Our friendly 24/7 customer support team is ready to assist you with API integration.
TRY FOR FREE

George Svash

George is the Director of Content Marketing at DataForSEO, an API suite designed to help SEO software companies and agencies gather the SEO data they need for their projects. George is a tech and marketing geek with a deep passion for Big Data and SEO. Having a broad experience in content marketing and a degree in engineering, he is particularly good at explaining complex concepts.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.